Hades wins the Hugo Award for Video Game History
APK Games

Hades wins the Hugo Award for Video Game History

Hades wins the Hugo Award for Video Game History

Hades wins the Hugo Award for Video Game History


The Hades video game by Supergiant Games is the first to win a Hugo Award. This Hugo Award is a prestigious literary award for science fiction and fantasy works. The Best Video Game award went to the roguelike, beating out other nominees such as Final Fantasy 7 Remake and The Last of Us Part 2 Spiritfarer, Blaseball and Animal Crossing: New Horizons.

The Hugo Awards’ annual ceremony was held last night. Thanks to NME, Greg Kasavin, creative director at SuperGiant Games, accepted the award via video conference on behalf of the Has‘ team. Kasavin said, “We are extremely honored to be first-ever recipients of a Hugo Award for the category of Best Video Game.” “We grew up reading classic science fiction and fantasy works from Ursula K. Le Guin and Philip K. Dick. That’s when we first heard about The Hugo Awards. It is truly an honor to be awarded this distinction, especially with such a diverse slate of nominees, large and small, over the years.

Learn more about Hades

  • Supergiant Gaming Highlights Developers in Ways More Studios Should Follow
  • Online Dating Profiles of Hades’ Gods (& Other Monsters)
  • Supergiant Gaming’s Greg Kasavin talks Death and Consequences of Hades

Hades was first available on Epic Games Store three years ago, but it saw its official 1.0 launch in Sept 2020. Since its debut a year ago, it’s the fourth Supergiant game. It has received praise from more than just yesterday’s Hugo Awards. The 1,000,000 milestone was reached shortly after the update. The game won a BAFTA and, perhaps, its greatest achievement, the Fanbyte’s Game of the Year 2020 title. Iconic.

Although the Hugo Awards award for Best Video Game was established as a special recognition for 2021, the organization has a long history expanding its reach to other areas of science fiction and fantasy fandoms. The category rules state that the Worldcon Committees have the “right to add one more Hugo Award category every year.” It sounds like videogames are just too good to miss, so this year’s medium was lucky.

We might see Best Video Game again in 2022. These stories have been a lot more important over the years. Hades will win again next year, 2023, 2024, and maybe even 2025. As of this year, it’s available on all platforms and on PC. Make sure you add it to every holiday list. Hades looks amazing.

Hades wins the Hugo Award for Video Game History
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top